How will the feature work?
Currently, WhatsApp has the functionality where Last Seen can be activated for “Everyone” “My Contacts” “Nobody”. In this — if you activate it — then all your contacts can see when you were last on WhatsApp. However, with the new feature, WhatsApp is adding “My Contacts Except…” functionality. Users can decide which of their contacts can see when you were last on WhatsApp. Earlier, if you wanted to do this, then you had to choose the option of “Nobody”.
The feature is visible in beta version 220.127.116.11 of WhatsApp. WABetainfo explains, “You can see “My contacts except” for last seen in this screenshot, but this also applies to other privacy settings as well, such as “profile picture” and “about”.” So those contacts will not be able to see your profile picture or about. And similarly, if you activate this feature for specific contacts, then you also won’t be able to see their last seen and other information.
Since the feature has already been rolled out to beta users, we can expect it to reach all users sooner than later. Though there have been cases when a feature or two gets canned even after being spotted in the beta versions. However, this is a rather interesting feature that many users may find handy, so we can expect to see it on WhatsApp. There’s no specific timeline to when the feature will roll out publicly.